More Japanese Grrrl Power

As I’ve just had a senior internet blog moment (cf. above post), it is time to return to our most recent theme.

Okay, okay, I will talk to my analyst about this fixation, but not today.

Body Surfer Minami Hatakeyama.

Video HERE at Pipeline.

International Body Board Assoc: 2012 Women’s World Tour rankings.

No. 7 – as above.

No.17 – Sari Ohhara

No. 19 – Mayumi Tone

And Japan is extremely well represented in the top 100.

Sari Ohhara

Finally, the Wedge at Newport Beach because it is a far out photo, thanks to hynews.com

Now, before I sign off I think we should address a major issue confronted by male readers. I know all this luscious eye candy I have been providing is bringing to the fore your residues of Western christian guilt. The children and their mother are now noticing your continuous use of the minimize button.

“I think Dad is developing a major case of yellow fever”.
“No, he is turning into a fucking perverted Japanese salaryman”

So I am going to help you deal with those uncomfortable but nonetheless exciting feelings of guilt you are experiencing.

You can read Chapter One of Beauty Up: Exploring Contemporary Japanese Body Aesthetics HERE by Laura Miller @ UC Regents Press 2006. It must be academic since Miller quotes cultural and sub-cultural theorists Stuart Hall and Dick Hebdige, respectively.

Finally, if you have really descended into the depths of salaryman total depravity,

Sukeban lite

the e-journal Neojaponisme (quite a find) provides a long, referenced three part series on Gyaru teen girl culture.

Crikey KT. I waded through the whole three parts and I must be normal after all.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

