More Garage plus extras

I was intending to update my Bo Xilai – Chongqing file today, but it appears that I wiped my recent updates on The Dark Princeling who has been exercising my attention for sometime NOW.

China’s very own power couple:

Bo exhibiting his best shit eating smile

Peng Liyuan: his PLA punch

Now John Garnaut of the Sydney Morning Herald has done a sterling job reporting on China’s version of Donald Trump. A scroll thru his reports HERE is well worth while. If you are unaware of this cheesy modern warlords existence, HERE is an overview.

However, Garnaut has seriously blotted his copy book here in tubbyland with this recent REPORT on some of China’s Princeling’s revulsion at the corruption, nepotism, lack of morality, ethics etc which exist in the Sino-social formation today. In fact, all the qualities which make China watching such delicious fun

This is a real head scratcher, given Garnaut’s path breaking past reportage of dirty deeds and family connections at the top of the food chain.

Now that we have the value-added stuff out of the way, it is time for Part Two – Garage Sounds – and where better to start than the Chocolate Watch Band.

I go for these two, the first for its boss bass line

and the second for a ton of reasons, including the fact that it was the closing track in the final episode of The Sopranos.

A fitting manifesto for Tony as he walks thru his hood, pondering the collapse of a proud US crime tradition, and the fact that he was reduced to sorting out inter-Family squabbles over the allotment of local garbage collection contracts. The latter beinga fitting statement on the condition of Contemporary American Capitalism.

Many versions of this one – all pretty good – but I will ignore the Frog compere and go with this one.

I have already written about the illustrious history of Louie Louie HERE, so let’s throw in Richard Berry’s obituary HERE and The Sonics version.

For the link-lazy.


Left click to enlarge.

And if you have potty mouth, here are the alternate lyrics:

Louie, Louie,
grab her way down low.
Louie, Louie,
grab her way down low.

A fine little bitch, she waits for me;
she gets her kicks on top of me.
Each night I take her out all alone;
she ain’t the kind I lay at home

Each night at ten, I lay her again;
I f–k my girl all kinds of ways.
And on that chair, I lay her there;
I felt my boner in her hair.

If she’s got a rag on, I’ll move above;
It won’t be long, she’ll slip it off.
I’ll take her in my arms again;
tell her I’d rather lay her again.

Believe it or no, Glendora was written by that old crooner Al Martino. This retro garage version by The Slickee Boys can be found on Battle of the Garages, Voxx Records, 1981.

This is serious, Mum.


And if you don’t own this essential slab of vinyl, you don’t get to go home with the drummer.

Shaking All Over written by Jimmy Heath aka Johnny Kidd and the Pirates. This song lubricated the relations between boys and girls on the dance floor across the length and breadth of tubbyland during his snotty teenage years.

I go for Vince Taylor and His Playboys version from a very early BBC film clip. NOTE Vince’s leather attire which explains why he was a failure in the UK and BIG in Frog Land.

Where would Stanley Kubrick be in Full Metal Jacket without this lyrical behemoth?

Back to Oz with The Missing Links. I just love this since I met the singer one morning early, decades later, while waiting at a zebra crossing all dressed up in the power suit, feeling crucial and off to work and my fawning secretaries.
We had a great conversation, since I had been listening to the Links super rare LP while in the shower earlier. When I shared this highlight of my life at the staff meeting later that afternoon, the Director called in the dog catcher.


And finally.

And Dear Reader, in case you are drawing any character-conclusions, forget it. I’ve been listening to Richard Tauber the great opera singer this week.

End Note. As I’ve encountered the most appalling musical taste since entering the Sinosphere, this is the first in a series designed to instruct and educate.
Jitney by Cecil Taylor from his Silent Tongues LP.
I was fortunate to see him perform a 70 minute version of this piece in all its discordant, shards of sound glory.

Enjoy.

Finally, this is strictly for my benefit.

Recommended Website: http://www.isidorsfugue.com/
Highly recommended Team for consistently great photography.

11 Responses to “More Garage plus extras”

  1. FOARP Says:

    “End Note. As I’ve encountered the most appalling musical taste since entering the Sinosphere, this is the first in a series designed to instruct and educate.”

    Phew. Thought you were talking about me for a minute there *puts on headphones, listens to Arcade Fire/Radiohead/Zero 7/Floyd/Joy Division/insert-other-art/rock-stuff-here*.

  2. That pathetic drunkard Says:

    Tell you what Tubby, if you are wrong I know of some very heavy peasant types from upstate who will most probably come looking for you. They have kind of Italian Catholic affectations and absolutely no sense of humour. Personally I like them but if you have crossed them then you are probably in deep dhit.

    BTW right now I am playing “pictures of Lilley” on the record player.

  3. GC C Says:

    Jeez King, I would take seriously what the fat bloke above says.

  4. kingtubby1 Says:

    @FOARP. I appreciated your eloquent defence of dogs to which I have added. All that stuff about an eye patch, etc. Are you trying to turn me into an Adam Ant lookalike?

    With the exception of Blue Monday which sold 16million copies in the extended 33rpm vinyl format, I am definitelyl an art/rock free zone.

    That said, it is patently obvious that Manchester and northern England has been the creative centre for decades now.

    Probably something to do with unemployment/dole/social welfare and I don’t write that in a negative way.

    Not sure where they hail from, but I enjoy Psycho Candy by the Jesus and Mary Chain, so I can’t be totally retro.

  5. NiubiCowboy Says:

    Incredible list!

    I’ve got a few recommendations from my neck of the woods:

    Zakary Thaks’ “Bad Girl”: http://youtu.be/BhKws1N6AGY

    The Moving Sidewalks’ “Crimson Witch”: http://youtu.be/mmxqENiN-iw

    Christopher and the Souls’ “Diamonds, Rats, and Gum”: http://youtu.be/py_Ppd58LtY

    This last song isn’t from the same period, but I’ll include it anyway. The whole album is good fun because the frontman and the rest of the band grow increasingly drunk during their session in the studio. Recorded in Sacramento, but all about Texas, Jon Wayne’s “But I’ve Got Texas”: http://youtu.be/FWsIXsMjfu0

  6. kingtubby1 Says:

    Good stuff and thanks. Moving Sidewalks?? Weren’t they precursors to the 13th Floor Sidewalks or was it Billy Gibbons et al?

    Texas Punk is something else. Try this on Eva Records a truly great label.

    http://www.discogs.com/Various-Texas-Punk-Groups-From-The-Sixties/release/1717124

    Pure dynamite esp the Cynic and the Undertakers.

    Cheers

  7. NiubiCowboy Says:

    The Moving Sidewalks came around after the 13th Floor Elevators, I think. But yes, Billy Gibbons founded the Moving Sidewalks and it turned out to be his first real success.

    You’re right about Texas punk. For me, the hardcore punk that emerged in the early 80s in places like Austin and San Antonio still sounds as raw as it did nearly thirty years ago. The Fearless Iranians From Hell, The Dicks, MDC, Really Red, The Big Boys, and DRI all hailed from the Lone Star state, not to mention early noise rock outfits like the Butthole Surfers and Scratch Acid.

    Since we’re on the subject of Texas punk, you might enjoy this brief documentary that the periodical Texas Monthly put out last year detailing the history of Texas garage rock. Although it only focuses on a handful of acts throughout the state, it does give a good sense of the scene at the time.

    Thanks for the link to that Texas punk/garage comp!

  8. kingtubby1 Says:

    Many thanks, and as soon as I recharge my internet will settle in and watch it.

    Have you considered writing a guest piece for this site: musical subject(s) of your choice.

    Cheers KT

  9. NiubiCowboy Says:

    Sure, I’d love to do something like that! Just shoot me an e-mail with the details.

  10. foarp Says:

    @KT – Like most of my generation, I know the (Glasgow based?) J. & M. Chain mainly for the end track on Sofia Coppola’s Lost In Translation

    Great film BTW.

  11. kingtubby1 Says:

    FOARP My education program must be working. Saw the film on a flight out of HK and I suppose I enjoyed it in between reading newspapers.

    As I noted, the early stuff by Fela is the best and there is a lot of it.

    Try my last two reggae tracks.

Leave a Reply

